How to Use Social Media with a Pen Name

Managing different accounts successfully

Ellie Daforge
3 min readJun 17, 2020
Photo by freestocks via Unsplash

I’ve previously written about using a pen name, and in the last few years, I’ve learned quite a lot more. A question I hear quite often is, “How do you use social media with a pen name?”

I’ll admit, it can seem a little daunting at first. When you start a writing account under your real name, you can invite friends and family to follow you. When you start under a pen name, you’re limited to fans only, or anyone you want to disclose your pen name to.

There are some clear drawbacks to setting up social media accounts under a pen name. Some writers end up juggling two sets of social media accounts, and have to go back and forth. This can cut into writing time.

There are also some definite benefits. Social media allows you to share your work more widely, and connect with readers and other writers.

If you set up your accounts successfully and know how to manage them, it can actually be a breeze to run. I’ve done it for a few years, and here’s what I’ve…

--

--

Ellie Daforge

Aspiring novelist. I write about healthcare, technology, and lifestyle.